Globalwize Radioshow #427

28/07/2023Tune In To A Brand-New Episode Of WeltBeat Selector/Host Jean Trouillet's Far-Reaching Format

Before heading into the weekend and into August, we bring you brand-new episode of WeltBeat host and selector Jean Trouillet's regular broadcast on Frankfurt's community radio X. This one marks number 427 and brings us another fine and eclectic selection from around the world. Let's take a look at which artists made the cut, shall we? 

The "Globalwize Radioshow #427" brings us extraordinary music by American bass singer and lutenist Joel Frederiksen and his early music Ensemble Phoenix Munich, Spanish classical guitarist Pablo Sáinz-Villegas, the multi-talented French vocalist Fredda, the sentimental raï of Paris-born Algerian singer Mohamed Lamouri, versatile modern harmonica player Marcos Coll, iconic Cape Verdean singer-songwriter Cesária Évora from a live performance at Paris' L'Olympia, the hypnotic folk rock of nomadic French duo An Eagle in your Mind, Italian troubadour and activist Luca Bassanese with his Piccola Orchestra Popolare performing at this year's Rudolstadt Festival, Italian singer, author and actor Raiz and Gruppe Radicanto with a tribute to popular Neapolitan singer Sergio Bruni, Berlin dancehall, hip hop and pop artist and Seeed frontman Peter Fox celebrating Italian icon Adriano Celentano, an excerpt from this year's Bardentreffen or 'Meeting of the Bards' performed by Omiri, two more excerpts from this year's Rudolstadt Festival by Finnish country band Steve ‘n’ Seagulls and then Balochi Benju maestro Ustad Noor Bakhsh, the mystic sounds of Zaza-Kurdish folk musician Mikail Aslan and fellow Kurdish tenbur maestro Cemil Qocgiri, traditional Bosnian musician Damir Imamović, 15-piece South African ensemble IzangoMa, London-based Nigerian artist Ekiti Sound (see video below), and 13-piece Nigerian afrobeat collective BANTU.

You can preview the show in the Mixcloud player below or simply head directly to our Greedio channel for the full two hours. Click here for the full tracklist. Hope you enjoy! 

AUTHOR: Lev Nordstrom