Globalwize Radioshow #409

19/08/2022Listen To A Brand-New Two-Hour Selection From Around The Globe By Weltbeat Host Jean Trouillet

And the world keeps on turning... Time for another episode of Weltbeat host and selector Jean Trouillet's far-reaching format on Frankfurt's community radio X. We've now uploaded his latest two-hour selection to our Greedio Mixcloud channel for you to stream at your convenience. But before you go, let us give you a quick track-by-track rundown of what to expect. 

The "Globalwize Radioshow #409" opens up with a "Meeting by Moonlight" and then a "Gguqqil Song from Labeq", i.e. extraordinary sounds taken from the compilation "He Jinhua: Songs of the Naxi of Southwest China" to be found on Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. Moving on to Tehran-born composer Aftab Darvishi, we hear the track "Plutone" off her current album "A Thousand Butterflies" on Hamburg's 30M Records (you can watch the cinematic companion video to single "Sahar" below). We then transition to another track taken from the wonderful tribute album to the late German songwriter, cabaret artist, poet and author Christian Stählin, which Trouillet presented in episode #408, this one performed by Berlin-based musician Holger Saarmann. German composer and sound artist Matthias Engelke takes it from there, with his thumping composition "Elephant Song (Chang Chang Chang)", followed by the otherworldly, resonant vocals of Djibouti's Yanna Momina, recorded live in a stilt hut on the horn of Africa by Grammy-winning producer and author Ian Brennan (Tinariwen, Zomba Prison Project, Ustad Saami) with the sparest of musical backings, and then two new tracks from two new projects (one alongside Texan trio Khruangbin) by Malian singer and guitarist Vieux Farka Touré, retracing his roots and addressing the unrest in his homeland.

From there "We Go Jam" with Planetman, an epic 12+ minutes of groovy afrobeat-inspired song recorded live at The Scallywag Festival in Somerset, UK and performed by the powerful triptych of Planetman on vocals and guitars, Tansay Omar (Björk) on drums and Caswell Swaby (Junior Delgado) on bass. Ghanaian xylophonist Isaac Birituro and The Rail Abandon keep the groove alive with "Fún Tony", a tribute to none other than the late Tony Allen, featuring UK-based afrobeat ambassador Dele Sosimi on vocals and taken from their dense and dynamic sophomore album "Small Small" (read more here) on Wah Wah 45s. After that it's all love with vibrant, neotropical Berlin duo Aquafaba, paving the way to three tracks by Grammy-nominated Colombian outfit Cimarrón off their recent album "La Recia".

Entering the remaining twenty-something minutes of the show, we take a moment to appreciate the first single of Jamaican legend Horace "Sleepy" Andy's forthcoming album on On-U Sound produced by Adrian Sherwood and then feast our ears on three tracks from the latest compilation by Analog Africa, i.e. "The Movers: 1970-1976", a superb collection of tunes by one of South Africa's most legendary bands. And, last but not least, we enjoy another three tracks off the recently released collaborative album "Forward" by European foundation reggae soundsystem and record label Silly Walks, featuring high-profile Afrobeats collaborators such as Nigerian rapper Skales, Nigerian singer Teni and Nigerian viral sensation CKay. Big up!

Click below to hear the full show and find the detailed playlist here.

AUTHOR: Lev Nordstrom